How Will Your Social Security Attorney Help You Determine the Onset Date of Your Disability?

Your “onset date” is the date when you became disabled. In order
to help you determine what onset date to allege, a Social Security Disability
Attorney may ask you a series of questions to decide when you stopped being
able to work on a regular basis. The answers to these questions will affect how
much back pay to which you are entitled and how much your monthly benefit
amount will be. 

The first question is typically “when did you stop working?” ...

Continue Reading →

Appeals Council Remand Rate Rises in 2019, Still Well Below Past Levels

The remand rate, the rate at which the Appeals Council returns cases to Administrative Law Judges based on claimant appeals, climbed in fiscal year 2019 to 14.56%, with exactly 21,000 cases remanded. This left more than 123,000 cases where the ALJ’s decision became final and no action was taken by the Appeals Council. Even though the 2019 remand rate is higher than any other year since 2014, it still lags well behind previous years. In fiscal year 2010, 21.77% ...

Continue Reading →

The Listing Of Impairments

The Social Security Administration (SSA) follows a five step process in determining whether or not you are disabled. We have discussed step one and step two previously.  In this blog, we will discuss step three – Listed Impairments.

SSA maintains a list of certain conditions that it considers per se disabling. These are commonly referred to as the “Listing of Impairments” – or simply the “Listings.” There are separate Listings for children and for adults. The Listings generally relate ...

Continue Reading →
Page 1 of 2 12